Information & Technology

PIC Level – 4 Higher National Certificate in Information Technology (Level 4)

Higher National Certificate in Information Technology tailors a broad understanding of Information Technology in the modern working environments. Students who complete this course can use this as an additional academic qualification in their relevant fields, and find jobs in commercial sectors. 

Higher National certificate in Occupational Health and Service qualification consists of 10 mandatory units and for a combined total of 120 academic credits. This curriculum is defined as being the number of credits that may be awarded to a learner for the successful achievement of the learning outcomes of a unit. One credit is equal to 10 hours of National Learning Hours.

Unit Number Unit Credits
PIC /HNCCT/4001 IT and Society 12
PIC /HNCCT/4002 Computer Systems and Software 12
PIC /HNCCT/4003 Computer Programming 12
PIC /HNCCT/4004 Relational Database Systems 12
PIC /HNCCT/4005 Software Engineering 12
PIC /HNCCT/4006 Systems Analysis and Design 12
PIC /HNCCT/4007 E-commerce Applications 12
PIC /HNCCT/4008 Human Computer Interaction 12
PIC /HNCCT/4009 Information Systems Theory and Practice 12
PIC /HNCCT/4010 Management Information Systems 12


This is a stand-alone qualification, but there are entry requirements. Applicants must have obtained one of the followings:

General Certificate Educational (G.C.E) Advanced Level qualification with 3 passes or any qualification which is at Level 3 or foundation diploma course and General Certificate Educational (G.C.E) Ordinary level qualification or equivalent qualification with 06 subject’s passes. 

This certificate qualification is expected to be provided minimum of 12 months for full-time study. The PIC shall make sure the time management and hours of program are covered as per the qualification requirements. This programme is flexible and delivered in person, virtual platform, through lectures and tutorial assignments.